FIFA Ballon D’or Gala: Messi, Lloyd, win big

ZURICH- It’s official. The FIFA Ballon D’or Gala took place earlier, and here we recap the awards.

Former German International Gerald Asamoah wins the FIFA Fair Play Award.

Wendell Lira wins the Puskas Award.

Manuel Neuer, Dani Alves, Sergio Ramos, Thiago Silva, Marcelo, Andres Iniesta, Paul Pogba, Luka Modric, Neymar Jr, Messi, and Ronaldo are named the FIFA FIFPro World 11.

USWNT Coach Jill Ellis won the FIFA Women’s World Coaches Award for leading the United States to international glory this past summer.

Luis Enrique won the FIFA Men’s World Coaches Award for leading Barcelona to a ridiculously successful 2015 season.

Carli Lloyd wins the FIFA Women’s Player of the World

Carli Lloyd won the FIFA Women’s Player of the Year, after being named captain to the USWNT, and scoring a hat-trick in the past FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Leo Messi wins the Ballon D’or

Lionel Messi has won the FIFA Ballon D’or, edging both Cristiano Ronaldo and teammate Neymar Jr. Messi has scored 52 goals and made 26 assists, in only 61 appearances for Barcelona. After winning La Liga, the Copa Del Rey, the UEFA Champions League, the UEFA Super Cup, and the Club World Cup, it’s no wonder that Messi would win yet another award, this time for himself.

Congratulations, Leo, Carli Lloyd, and all the other winners!



Posted in Soccer and tagged , , , , , , , , .